Amsterdam, Netherlands

I’ve officially fallen in love with the stroopwaffel.  What is a stroopwaffel you ask? The most delicious heavenly dessert ever.  A kind of waffel crepe cinnamony cookie with caramel (the best in my opinion), honey, or syrup sandwiched in between.  These were amazing and I definitely had more of them than I should have in my time in Amsterdam…

IMG_5550.PNG

Lucky for me, the weather in Amsterdam was quite nice considering it was Amsterdam.  The rain held off for the most part until the day I departed.  Although it wasn’t warm by any means, it was a much welcome change from the 30+ weather Vanessa and I had been experiencing.  I must admit, being in a hotel was such a nice change from being in a hostel.  I cannot reiterate how fantastic it was to have a real bed and not just a foamie and to have AC.  My time in Amsterdam was laidback and with no real plan I mostly wandered around the streets, taking in the narrow, eclectic buildings which I learned were all built so narrow because they were originally taxed by the width of the front of the house.  Hence the buildings being so narrow but tall.  I walked the canals, the Red Light District past BullDogs, the first coffeeshop, and through the tulip market.  It was refreshing to have a change in food and to find myself surrounded by fruits and vegetables and so many healthy options.  As much as I love my stroopwafels and bread, it was fantastic to have some salads and delicious fresh juices again and not just bread and meat.  I went to the Van Gogh Musuem and spent an afternoon admiring all his pieces and learning a lot more about his life and the other artists that influenced him and also he influenced.  Overall Amsterdam was fantastic although 3 days may have been a bit too long there for my own preference.  My next stop is London to see Stacey!

 

 

Return to Home Page

Leave a Reply

