Sevilla and Ronda

DSC03909
View from the rooftop terrace at my hostel.

Every place I go to in Spain, I seem to fall a little bit more in love with this country. Seville was full of life; bringing together beautiful buildings with even more beautiful people, always talking and happy. The energy that permeated from the people seemed to encompass all that Spain holds dear: a love to socialize, to enjoy good food and drink, and really just enjoy life in a leisurely manner. I now understand why I have been told that it is a place not to miss. Colourful buildings along narrow, winding streets may have made it difficult to navigate but I can’t imagine a more magical place to get lost in. The people I encountered, at both restaurants and sites were extremely friendly and talkative which if you have been to Spain you know is not normally the case.   The food was amazing, works of art and pure creation. Stuffed eggplant, tenderloin in Catalonian sauce, cheese stuffed beef Carpaccio fried and served on a bed of noodles done with a Moroccan twist were just a few of the magnificent dishes I tasted. The food and the buildings you could tell have been influenced by Seville’s close proximity to Morocco. The Real Alcazar was something beyond anything I could have imagined, with gardens that seemed to extend on forever. The city of Dawn in Game of Thrones was filmed here. The Seville Cathedral, second largest in the world, didn’t disappoint. You could have spent hours wandering through observing all its detail and ornateness. Even doing homework didn’t seem like such a chore – it’s hard to complain when you’re sitting on a rooftop terrace overlooking the Cathedral and watching the sky light up as the sun sets. I went to a Flamenco show at the Museo de Flamenco, and it was something entirely else. The singer told us at the beginning (in very broken English) that Flamenco speaks a universal language and he was correct. You felt his pain when he performed a solo, saw the dancers’ passion, and felt all of their happiness at doing something they truly enjoyed. The dance and the music have an immense amount of energy and entirely captivate your attention.

 

Ronda, about 2 hours to the east of Seville, was a destination I found before coming to Spain. I had stumbled upon a picture of a bridge over a gorge with houses built on the edge of sheer cliffs. Something about it just drew me to it. It was well worth the travels to get there, albeit it was very cold and as I had only looked up Seville’s forecast (which was in the 20s) I didn’t bring a jacket and I froze! It was nice to get to add a little adventure to the trip; climbing down the gorge’s side, seeing which trails would lead somewhere with a beautiful viewpoint while others just led to dead ends. I ended up walking around the entire old part of the city (the Puente Nuevo separates the old and new parts of the city), seeing the place I had stood at the bottom of the bridge from a point at the bottom about 15 m away separated by what I imagine was very cold water. I had the most amazing Paella, granted I actually ate it inside (which is a first since travelling with dad) as I tried to tough it out outside but when I started to lose feelings in my fingers I gave up. I am the worst Canadian ever and I plan on absolutely dying when I return home in just over a month’s time!

 

 

Return to Home Page

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jackie says:

    Such an amazing place! The colors of the sky, the architecture, the landscape…truly a vision.
    See you soon, take extra good care.
    Jackie

    Like

Leave a Reply

