70th La Tomatina Festival!

We just arrived back to Madrid from Bunol by bus.  It’s amazing how an hour tomato fight can exhaust you!  We both slept the four hours back.  They say 20,000 people attended but it sure seemed like a lot more.

Faja and I took our spot on the street around 9 this morning where we watched many people attempt to get the Palo Jabon (leg of ham) from atop a heavily, lard greased pole that was a good 2 stories high.  For 2 hours we watched as no one succeeded… there was some close calls but no one seemed to grasp the idea of team work.  Needless to say at 11 the gun went and the trucks began to slowly make their way down the street, full of volunteers chucking tomatoes at you.  This happened again 3 more times until the 5th and 6th truck dumped their load and all chaos broke loose.  There really is something gratifying about chucking tomatoes at someone.  I mean who doesn’t like a giant food fight?  The first few tomatoes, the acid or smell bothered you but by the end, whether it be sangria, water, or tomatoes, nothing phased you.  I was drenched, with tons of tomato pieces stuck in my hair.  Of course me being typical me, I forgot to get a photo before I let people chuck a bucket of water at me (literally a huge bucket directly at my face) and then let a bunch of lovely people spray me with their hoses as we walked back up huge hill towards where the buses were.  We ended it all by having a beer while listening to a live band and having a good laugh at how some people were still so covered in tomatoes!

Photos are courtesy of la Faja as I did not bring anything to the festival as I have a wonderful tendency of losing things.

Not the most clear shot but you can see it nonetheless. Theirs the ham at top, you can see the white lard below and you get the gist that its pretty darn high!
Not the most clear shot but you can see it nonetheless. There’s the ham at top, you can see the white lard below and you get the gist that its pretty darn high!
Google being awesome as it is, sent their street view car down through the middle of the fight.... it may need a car wash
Google being awesome as it always is, sent their street view car down through the middle of the fight…. it may need a car wash
A slightly waterlogged me
A slightly waterlogged me
The walk back up the hill, many people still covered in the aftermath of the fight!
The walk back up the hill, many people still covered in the aftermath of the fight!

 

 

Return to Home Page

Leave a Reply

