I LOVE Spain

I know I just posted yesterday but I just can’t help myself.  I love everything about this city (minus maybe how hot and humid it is).  I love the architecture, the cuisine is divine, and I love the laid back attitude that everyone has.  This morning we went to one of the Miguel Torres’ wineries.  I had a croissant and cappuccino on our walk to the train station at Placa Catalunya.  How they make their croissants so delicious, I have no idea.  Anyways the train took an hour for us to arrive in Vilafranca del Penedes where we took a quick taxi ride to arrive at the winery.  The winery was absolutely stunning, it put every other winery I’ve ever seen in Kelowna to shame.  The tour lasted over two hours – we got to watch a quick video about their family history, see 2 of the wine cellars, learn a crazy amount of information about how wine is actually made and what the Torres brand is doing, and then of course we did a tasting of some amazing wines.  Afterwards our guide Ana told us we could go out to their garden, in which they housed all varieties of grapes, and taste them all!

Miguel Torres

Inside the old wine cellar - it goes for over 2 km!
Inside the old wine cellar – it goes for over 2 km!
Breathtaking view from the winery
Breathtaking view from the winery
Garden with all the different varieties of grapes they use in their wines
Garden with all the different varieties of grapes they use in their wines

Once I was full on grapes and wiped from the sun, we headed back into town where we had lunch at a small local restaurant called La Fonda Del Lluis.   After embarrassing myself by my failed attempt at trying to be local, the owner came over and showed us how to use the garlic and tomatoes on the bread they had given us.  We had some more Torres wine through the course of our delicious lunch of provolone cheese in oregano oil, cured ham, and an assortment of other tapas they gave us.  It was divine.  From there we headed back on the train to Barcelona, to start out walk towards La Sagrada Familia.  We passed Casa Batlo and La Pedrera on our way (we are heading back to check out Casa Batlo tomorrow morning before we head out) both which displayed the stunning architect that Gaudi is renowned for.

This city is full of the most beautiful buildings
This city is full of the most beautiful buildings

La Sagrada Familia was unbelievable.  I’m at a lack of words to describe just how ornate or massive it was.  I can’t imagine having the vision to create something like that.  While it definitely is still a work in progress, with construction in the midst, it literally is like nothing I have ever seen before.  Gaudi really outdid himself on this one.

La Sagrada Familia
View of the back of La Sagrada Familia

And now we’ve just arrived back from eating another delicious meal.  I cannot emphasize just how fantastic the food is here! We did another meal of tapas having some T-bone steak, deep fried brie, a goat cheese with caramelized onions and berries, shrimp, and calamari.  Seriously Barcelona is by far my favourite place I’ve travelled yet!

 

 

Return to Home Page

Leave a Reply

